logo of cricketingnepal.com

Pokhara Premier League to begin from October 26

Jun 19, 2018 | CN Staff |
Queen's Events Management Pvt Ltd on Tuesday announced the Pokhara Premier League (PPL) an addition to a list of Twenty20 franchise tournaments in the country that recently became a One Day Internaitonal nation.

Amidst a programme in Kathmandu, Queen’s Events Management P. Ltd unveiled the logo and date of the PPL which will be held from October 26 to November 6. The city of lakes will host six franchise teams, while the owners and the team details will be revealed in due course. 

Chhumbi Lama, the Queen's Managing Director, claimed that the tournament is going to be the highest cash-prized Twenty20 league of the country. "It will be done in a highly professional manner. We are planning to bring in curator from India to prepare the pitch. There will be auction of cricketers and we ensure that it is going to be the best Twenty20 league of the country," said Lama during a press conference.

Everest Premier League and Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) are two other big city-based franchise leagues in Nepal. DPL is so far the highest cash-prized cricket tournament that offered a cash purse of Rs 2.5 million to the champions in the last edition. Lama also informed that three new city franchises will be introduced through the PPL.    

National cricket team captain Paras Khadka said the League will lay a foundation in making Pokhara a cricket hub in Nepal. "Its a new beginning for us. To get this tournament in Pokhara is a big boost for the city itself. This will help in making Pokhara a cricket hub," said Paras. 

The Twenty20 League will be preceded by an U-16 PPL which will be held in Kathmandu. The participating franchises will have U-16 teams who will compete in a tournament in Kathmandu. The organisers are preparing to host the final of that U-16 tournament in Pokhara.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard