logo of cricketingnepal.com

Province 5 put one foot in semis

Jun 04, 2018 | Parbati Lama |
Province 5 put their one foot in the semi-finals of the Prime Minister Cup One Day National cricket tournament with a 30-run Duckworth/Lewis victory over Province 3 on Monday
In the Group 'B' match at the Mulpani Cricket Ground, Province 5 laid a spin trap over to bundle out Province 3 for just 152 runs in 44.5 overs. Province 5 were 89-3 in 20.5 overs in their chase before rain washed out the remainder of the day. 
With the minimum 20 overs already played to constitute a result, Province 5 were ahead of 30 runs and thus emerged as the winners. Province 5 currently lead the table with five points from three matches on net run rate. Second-placed Province 7 are tied on points with Province 5 but their fate will be determined after Wednesday's match between the latter and Nepal Police Club (three points from two matches). 
Bhupendra Thapa and skipper Jitendra Singh Thakuri (18) had given Province 3 a modest start with 46-run stand for the first wicket. But they kept losing wickets at regular intervals before being folded to a below-par total. 
Man-of-the-match Lal Bahadur Adhikari took 4-33 from 10 overs, while Sandeep Sunar (2-31) and Bikram Bhushal (2-41) were other two spinners who combined to take eight wickets in the match. Seamer Krishna Karki returned the figures of 2-7 from 3.5 overs. 
Bhupendra top scored with a 66-ball 46 with three fours and two sixes. Rupesh Srivastav was their next best scorer making 21 not out from 36 balls. Aadil Khan (16) and Sanjay Basnet (15) were other batsmen to cross double figures.
Opener Sandeep and Shankar Rana gave a half century stand to give a perfect reply before the former retired hurt for 38 off 35 with seven fours and six. Shankar made 19 from 31 with two boundaries. Shakti Gauchan (15 not out) and Antim Thapa (10) were next best batsmen for them. 


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard