logo of cricketingnepal.com

Rohit's whirlwind knock gives APF big victory

May 27, 2018 | Parbati Lama |
Rohit Kumar Paudel produced a whirlwind knock to hand Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club a five-wicket victory over Province No 4 as the Prime Minister Cup One Day National cricket tournament kicked off on Sunday.
Electing to bat first at the TU grounds, a half century from Hari Chauhan and some late order resurgence lifted Province 4 to 239-9 in 50 overs. APF were 13-2 in 2.5 overs but established names chipped before Rohit smashed a scintillating 73 not out from 41 balls leading APF to 242-5 in 36.3 overs. 
APF lost Aasif Sheikh (five) and Anil Kumar Sah (one) early but opener Subash Khakurel and Pradeep Airee resurrected the innings with a 79-run partnership for the third wicket. Pradeep made 37 from 51 balls with four boundaries and a six. 
The departmental side saw another 32-run stand between Subash and Prithu Baskota and the opener departed after making 48 from 61 balls with six hits to the fence. The match winning partnership then came between Prithu and Rohit after the two batsmen shared 110-run fifth wicket stand. 
Province 4 did get rid of Prithu but by then APF were just six runs away from victory. Prithu hit a run-a-ball 53 with seven fours and a six. Man-of-the-match Rohit struck 10 fours and three sixes in his knock. 
Earlier, APF's experienced bowlers tightened the screws in the Province 4 top order. No 3 batsman Bidhan Shrestha made 43 from 82 balls hitting three boundaries. Hari held the innings with the lower order batsmen scoring 64-ball 57 hitting seven fours and a six. 
Bipin Khatri (27) and Anil Gurung (21) were other notable contributors for Province 4. Kamal Singh Airee took 3-42 from nine overs and Amar Singh Routela had the figures of 2-26 from seven. 


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard