logo of cricketingnepal.com

Manoj upstages Amit as Province 7 win title

May 02, 2018 | Parbati Lama |
Manoj Lothyal upstaged yet another valiant innings from opener Amit Yadav as Province 7 defeated Province 2 by 24 runs to win the first Manmohan Memorial U-16 National cricket tournament on Wednesday.

Electing to bat first at the TU grounds, Province 7 rode on a back of important contribution from almost all of their batsmen to reach 208-7 in 30 overs – the second biggest total of the tournament. Amit then stood between Province 7 and title but he was undone by Lothyal who finished with a fifer restricting Province 2 to 184-9.

Amit began the reply with a 41-run opening wicket partnership with Sahil Patel who was bowled by Mahesh Sawad. Sahil scored 25 from 32 with three boundaries. Amit added another 35 runs with Imran Sheikh (12) and 73 runs for the third wicket with Trit Raj Das as Province 2 sniffed victory in the match.

But Narendra removed Trit and Manoj got the prized scalp of Amit four runs later as Province 2 slide began. Amit went on to make his third consecutive half century of the tournament scoring 80 from 64 balls in an innings that contained no boundary. Trit scored 27 from 33 with one boundary.

Manoj picked up four more wickets making sure there would be no comeback for Province 2. He returned the figures of 5-36 from six overs and Narendra took 3-34 from six.

Earlier, opener Rajan Singh (six) was the only Province 7 batsman failing to cross double digits before all the batsmen contributed. Another opener Hridaya Bithari hit three boundaries in his 45-ball 33. Suwash Ayer (14) and Gajendra Singh Bohora (16) also chipped in but it was Rahul Bhandari who took Province 7 into a strong position.

Rahul shared 43 runs for the fifth wicket with Binod Khatri (13) and made 38 from 33 balls with two sixes and as many boundaries. Narayan Joshi made 19 in between before a 54-run unbroken stand between Roshan and Narendra helped Province 7 cross 200-run mark.

Roshan scored 37 from 17 balls with two sixes and a four and Narendra added 20 off 11 with two fours and a six. Bibek Yadav took 2-36, while Bikram Kushwaha, Samsad Ali Mansuri and Nikhil Singh had one scalp apiece. 

Winners (Province 7): Rs 2,50,000
Runners-Up (Province 2): Rs 1,50,000
Player of the series: Bibek Yadav (Province No. 2): 10,000 
Best Batsman: Amit Yadav (Province No. 2): Rs 5,000
Best Bowler: Narendra Saud (Province No. 7): Rs 5,000
Best Keeper: Rajan singh (Province No. 7)
Best Fielder:Hridaya Bithari (Province No.7)


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard