logo of cricketingnepal.com

Province 7 and Province 2 set the title clash

May 01, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |

Province 7 and  Province 2 set the title clash of the first Manmohan Memorial Inter-Province U-16 National cricket tournament  on Tuesday

Province 7 beat Province 1 by 5 wickets in the first semi-final. Electing to bat first, Province 1 made 148-8 in 30 overs after Bibek Mehta hit 22-ball 41 with five fours and two sixes. Rajan Magar made 22 off 42 with four hits to the fence. Navneet Karna (19), Abhishek Baral (16), Ankit Shrestha (13) and Luv Kamat (11) were other batsmen to reach double digits for Province 1.

Man-of-the-match Narendra Sawad returned the magical figures of 4-13 with one maiden in his six-over spell, while Manoj Lothyal took two wickets and Rahul Bhandari had one scalp.


In reply, Province 7 chased down the target in 22 overs for the loss of five wickets. Opener Rajan Singh starred in Province 7 chase making 32 off 28 with three hits to the fence and one six. Suwash Ayer (37 off 29 with seven fours), Roshan Sawad (23 from 23 with three boundaries) were other notable contributors in the victory of Province 7. 


Sameer Timalsina, Bibek and Naveen Karna had one scalp apiece for Province 1.

In the second match at TU grounds, Province 2 got the better of Province 3 by 41 runs.

Province 2 scored tournament-high 216-5 in 30 overs after Amit Yadav struck 86 off 78 smashing eight fours and a maximum. Bibek Yadav did the most damage smashing 63 off just 26 balls. Both batsmen had come into the match hitting half centuries in their last group stage match.

Bibek hit seven sixes and a boundary. Sujit Shah (35), Trit Raj Das (14) and Imran Sheikh (11) were other notable contributors.

Pratish GC and Sushant Karki took two wickets each for Province 3.

Deepak Bohara (30) and Aaish Bhattari (15) gave a good start to the Province 3 but other middle order batsmen could not build on to it and the team was bundled out for 175 in 28.5 overs. Pratish (48), Sambhav Shrestha (34), Ashok Poudel (16) and Aaasish Bhattarai (15) reached the double digits but their effort was not yet enough to overhaul Province 2 total.

Bikram Kushuwa returned the figures of 4-24 in his six-over spell, while Sunny Shah took two and Bibek, Trit and Samsad Ali Mansuri took one wicket each for Province 2. Bibek was declared the man-of-the-match.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard