logo of cricketingnepal.com

Allround Dipendra steers NPC to title

Apr 28, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |
Dipendra Airee gave an allround performance as Nepal Police Club (NPC) claimed the title of Deepak Gupta Memorial Twenty20 cricket tournament on Saturday

In a departmental duel at the Ranabhumi ground in Janakpur, NPC defeated Tribhuwan Army Club (TAC) by 34 runs with Dipendra scoring important 19 runs and picking up three wickets. 

Electing to field first, TAC managed to bundle out NPC for 114 in 18.2 overs. But NPC bowlers did extremely well in their defence skittling out TAC for just 80 runs in 18.2 overs.

Rajesh Pulami almost played a lone hand collecting a run-a-ball 31 for the Armymen hitting two sixes, while Sagar Pun (14 off 24 with two boundaries) was the next batsman to reach double figures.

Man-of-the-final Dipendra returned the miserly figures of 3-7 with one maiden in four overs while Sunil Dhamala, Lalit Rajbanshi and Ram Naresh Giri took two wickets each for NPC. Lalit Singh Bhandari also had a scalp.

Earlier, skipper Manjeet Shrestha hit a 27-ball 28 to lift NPC to what ultimately was a winning total. Manjeet hit three sixes. Kushal Bhurtel (19), Lalit (18) and Sidhant Lohani (12) were other batsmen to reach the double digits.

Sompal Kami (2-11), Sagar (2-14), Bikram Sob (2-11) and Shahab Alam (2-39) shared eight wickets between them for TAC. Sushan Bhari Shrestha also took one wicket. 

A total of six teams had participated in the tournament. 


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard