logo of cricketingnepal.com

Army, Police set title clash

Apr 27, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |
Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) and Nepal Police Club (NPC) set the title clash of the Deepak Gupta Memorial Twenty20 cricket tournament in Janakpur on Friday. 

At Ranabhumi ground, Tribhuwan Army Club (TAC) thrashed Phoenix Cricket Club by nine wickets. Sompal Kami, Sagar Pun and Shahab Alam took two wickets each bundling out Phoenix for a low score of 52 in just 16.2 overs. Rajinder Lal, who hit 21 from 29 balls with four boundaries, was the only Phoenix batsman to score in double digits.
Sagar and Naresh gave a perfect reply in chase of a low total with a 40-run partnership for the first wicket with Naresh Budhayer (26 not out) as the Armymen reached the total in just 5.5 overs. 

Naresh struck a 13-ball 26 not out with a six and five boundaries as TAC reached 53-1 in just 5.5 overs.Sagar hit three fours and one maximum in his 18-ball innings.

Man-of-the-match Sompal returned the magical figures of 2-1 with one maiden from his two-over spell. 

Earlier in the day, NPC got the better of Sonnet Cricket Club by 28 runs. Electing to field first, Sonnet managed to restrict NPC to 147-5 in 20 overs. Sunil Dhamala top scored for NPC with 37 off 37 with three boundaries and two sixes while Dilip Nath contributed 32 from 30 with two fours. Ameet Shrestha (22) and Aarif Seikh (27) were other notable contributors for NPC.

Faiz Ahmed took two wickets and conceded 35 runs from his four overs spell and Shivam Dixit, Kshitiz Kumar and Nilendra Sing took one wicket each for Sonnet.

Sonnet were bundled out for 119 in 19.4 overs in their chase. Man-of-the-match Sunil gave the much-needed breakthrough to NPC removing openers Adesh Kumar and Pankul Kumar after the two batsmen had added 40 runs for the first wicket. Adesh made 25 off 17 balls hitting two fours and two sixes and Pankul conributed 17 off 12 smashing two maximums. Skipper Faiz (17) and Sudhanshu Tribedi (16) were other batsmen to reach double digits for Sonnet. 

Sunil returned the figures of 2-17, Lalit Rajbanshib (2-15) and Ram Naresh Giri (2-25) in their respective four-over spells while Lalit Bhandari and Dipendra Airee had one scalp apiece for NPC.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard