logo of cricketingnepal.com

Can leg spin prodigy Sandeep break through?

Apr 26, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |

Teen leg spin prodigy Sandeep Lamichhane was among the five nominees unveiled by Nepal Sports Journalists Forum on Wednesday for the People's Choice Award of the coveted Pulsar Sports Award.

Sandeep, who is currently in India awaiting to get his debut with Delhi Daredevils in the Indian Premier League, was nominated in the category for the second time in the last three years.

Sandeep had a successful Nepali calendar year in 2074 BS after he became the first ever Nepali cricketer to get an IPL contract and followed the achievement with a spot in the Caribbean Premier League. 

He ended up picking 84 wickets that year including 24 alone in the ICC U-19 World Cup Asia Qualifier, the most by any Nepali bowler at any level of cricket tournament.

He had hit the global headlines once he lured Daredevils for this season's IPL -- one of the most expensive professional leagues in global sport. 

The People's Choice Award winners is decided through SMS voting, voting from sports journalists and coaches along with facebook likes. Voting from sports journalists and coaches will account to 50 per cent of voting and have been introduced for the first time. 

To get hold of the award, Sandeep has to get the better of football's Kiran Chemjong, spiker Maan Bahadur Shrestha, teen golfer Pratima Sherpa and table tennis player Santoo Shrestha. 

The winner will be announced on June 17 during the award ceremony. NSJF honours the achievements of athletes on the basis of their performance in the last one Nepali calendar year.

In a due course, it will also unveil the nominees for the player of the year male, female, youth, para-athlete along with the coach of the year. Sports persons or institutions will also be honoured for their contribution to Nepali sports through Special Award and Lifetime Achievement Award.   

The event is sponsored by Hansraj Hulaschand and Company Pvt ltd. The voting process for People's Choice Award has begun from Thursday and will be available for till 16th June. 

NSJF on Wednesday also signed agreement with THT Live 37722 as its official voting partner.

How can you vote the player of your choice?

To vote for Sandeep Lamichhane type PULSARSL and sms to 37722

To vote for Kiran Chemjong type PULSARKC and sms to 37722

To vote for Pratima Sherpa type PULSARPS and sms to 37722

To vote for Man Bahadur Shrestha type PULSARMS and sms to 37722

To vote for Santoo Shrestha type PULSARSS and sms to 37722


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard