logo of cricketingnepal.com

United hammer Janakpur to stay alive for semis

Apr 22, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |
United Cricket Club of Birgunj hammered local side Janakpur Cricket Team by 40 runs to stay alive in the hunt for the semi-finals of the Deepak Gupta Memorial Twenty20 cricket tournament on Sunday.

Put in to bat first, almost all United batsmen contributed leading them to 157-4 in 20 overs. Despite getting into a decent start, Janakpur could only mustre 117-8 after Saidullah Ansari and Haseem Ansari took three wickets each for United.

With Nepal Police Club already through from the group with six points from maximum three matches, United and Phoenix Cricket Club of Assam will clash each other on Monday to decide the second team to reach the semis from Group 'A'. 

Hari Shankar Sah and Shankar Rana did manage to bring a 54-run partnership for the opening wicket but in the process the two batsmen consumed too many deliveries that ultimately put immense pressure on upcoming batsmen. 

Rana top scored for them with a 52-ball 47 hitting five boundaries and a six and Hari Shankar made 28 from 27 with five hits to the fence. Rest of the batsmen didn't touch double figures. Man-of-the-match Haseem returned the figures of 3-17 from three overs and Saidullah kept it tight with 3-15 from four. 

Aarajab Raj and Aashu Kandoi gave a decent start to United with a 68-run partnership for the first wicket. But they went on to lose three wickets in a space of three runs after Samsad Sheikh struck with triple scalps including both the openers. 

Raja Singh and Haseem then led the revival with a match-winning 86-run stand for the fourth wicket. Raja hit a 33-ball 46 with five boundaries and a six and Haseem chipped in 36 not out from 28 hitting four fours and a maximum.

Aarajab contributed 36 from 28 wih five fours and a six, while Aashu hit 29-ball 24 with three hits to the fence.  


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard