logo of cricketingnepal.com

All-round NPC enter DGMT semi-finals in Janakpur

Apr 22, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |
Nepal Police Club (NPC) defeated Phoenix Cricket Club of Assam by 34 runs for their third consecutive victory to enter the semi-finals of the Deepak Gupta Memorial Twenty20 cricket tournament in Janakpur on Sunday

In the Group 'A' game, a collective batting effort guided NPC to 161-6 in 20 overs. With a strong bowling line up that included national team stars, NPC then restricted Phoenix to 127-8. Spinners Sunil Dhamala and Dipendra Singh Airee took two wickets each for NPC. 

Lalit Singh Bhandari, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi and Yogendra Singh Karki also had a scalp each. Phoenix, at one stage, were heading towards a low total at 77-7 but Rajpaul Saikia and Bikash Chhetri (18) shared 48 runs for the eighth wicket to push their team towards a respectable total. 

Rajpaul top scored for Phoenix with a 23-ball 37 that included two sixes and a four. Bharat Newar was the second best contributor with a run-a-ball 25 hitting two boundaries. 

Earlier, man-of-the-match Sunil Dhamala led the scoring from the top order making a 23-ball 27 with four boundaries and a six. Amit Shrestha (10), Kushal Bhurtel (13) and Dipendra Singh Airee (19) all got into double figures before Dilip Nath provided the lift to NPC innings. 

Dilip smashed an unbeaten 45 from 27 balls with four boundaries and three sixes. Aarif Sheikh struck three sixes in his 12-ball 23. Bharat, Amrit Bastor, Bikash, Rajinder Lal and Yasir Ali took a wicket each for the visiting side. 


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard