logo of cricketingnepal.com

Dhamala, Mustafa century stand hands Chauraha title

Apr 13, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |

A century partnership between Sunil Dhamala and Rohan Mustafa gave Team Chauraha Dhangadhi their second consecutive title of the Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) at the SSP grounds on Friday.

In a flat batting surface at the SSP grounds, Dhamala and Mustafa both hit half centuries leading Chauraha to 181-4 in 20 overs. Mustafa then struck in the penultimate over as Goldens were stopped at 160-8 for a 21-run victory.

The title handed Chauraha, who had won the title under national team skipper Paras Khadka last year, a cash purse of Rs 2.5 million. Runners-up Goldens got one million rupees.

With hard-hitting Indian recruit Sunny Patel still at the crease having hit two sixes and a boundary as Goldens needed 27 runs from the last 12 balls, achievable in the flat track. But Mustafa bowled Patel in the crucial 19th over from where Goldens could only score four and also lost Rashid Khan (two).

The last over left Goldens with 23 to get and Lalit Singh Bhandari bowled his heart out conceding just one run. Bhandari had also provided the breakthrough with the prized scalp of Subodh Bhati (five) who have come into the final smashing tournament's quickest half century against Mahendranagar United.

Amit Shrestha and Pushpa Thapa (15) led the charge with a 52-run partnership for the second wicket. Samsad Sheikh then bowled Pushpa and Yogendra Singh Karki had Amit caught at mid on by Shankar Rana. Amit scored 58 from 39 balls with seven fours and three sixes.

Gyanendra forced a revival with a 36-run partnership with Naresh Budhayer (19) before Bhandari bowled the Goldens captain to put them on back foot. Gyanendra made 30 off 27 with two sixes and a four. Bhandari returned the figures of 3-22 and Mustafa had 2-46 from four overs.

Chauraha batting revolved around Dhamala and Mustafa who played professionally dealing in singles and doubles and punishing lose balls to up the run rate. Dhamala made 78 from 63 balls with eight fours and three sixes.

Man-of-the-final Mustafa scored 60 from 42 balls with four sixes and four boundaries. Bhati took 2-17 from four overs for Goldens.

Team Chauraha Dhangadhi: Rs 2.5 million
Kathmandu Goldens: Rs 1 million
Player-of-the-Series: Rohan Mustafa: Pulsar NS 200 Motorcyle
Tournament MVP: Lalit Singh Bhandari: Goldstar Golden Boot


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard