logo of cricketingnepal.com

Attariya blow away second Qualifier spot

Apr 10, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |
CYC Attariya blew away a comfortable position as Binod Bhandari's Mahendranagar United reached the second Qualifier of the Dhangadhi Premier League on Tuesday

In the Eliminator match at the SSP grounds, four out of top five Attariya batsmen contributed with double figures in chase of United's 130-7 but they still fell 15 runs short to target. 

The victory sets an expected mouthwatering fixture between United and Biratnagar Goldens who were stunned by Team Chauraha Dhangadhi in the first Qualifier. The winner of Wednesday's second Qualifier will play Chauraha in the final on Friday

Kamal Singh Airee took 2-16 as United struggled with the bat. They were three wickets inside 33 runs including that of key batsman Punit Bista. Aarif Sheikh and Puneet Mehra shared 48-run partnership for the fourth wicket. Aarif made 35 from 37 balls with five boundaries. 

Mehra scored 26 from 29 balls with two fours and a six but it was Karan KC who provided a late lift with a 13-ball cameo of 24 not out hitting three boundaries and a six.

Attariya lost Prem Tamang (five) early before skipper Subash Khakurel condsolidated the innings stitching a 42-run stand for the second wicket with Gaurav Chitkara (14). Spinner and man-of-the-match Robeen Khatri then removed both batsmen in a space of one run reducing them to 56-3 in 8.5 overs. 

Dipendra Singh Airee (27) and Vipin Chandra (28 not out) then got involved in a half century partnership but United bowlers kept things tight in the closing stages. With Dipendra dismissed, Attariya needed 23 runs to win from the last 12 balls and Karan turned the match in the 19th conceding just three runs. 

Mehra had the final nail in the coffin leaking just four runs in the final over.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard