logo of cricketingnepal.com

Kings open account as Challengers beaten again

Apr 04, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |
Biratnagar Kings registered their first victory in the Dhangadhi Premier League defeating Rupandehi Challengers by 42 runs on Tuesday.

At the SP grounds, all the top five Kings batsmen contributed before the team made 181-4 in 20 overs. No 3 batsman and Hong Kong recruit Babar Hayat provided the lift smashing a 35-ball 58. 

Opener Pradeep Airee once again stood for Challengers with his second consecutive half century of the tournament but his side was folded for 139-7 in 20 overs. 

Challengers managed to bring their highest score of the tournament but the team is now left with only mathematical chances to qualify for playoffs following third consecutive defeat.

Pradeep, who had scored 51 runs against Kathmandu Goldens on Monday, scored 54 off 50 balls with six boundaries and two sixes. Dipak Prasad was the next best contributor with a 17-ball 22 with two fours and a six. 

Shubham Kamat returned the figures of 3-18 for Kings. Ram Naresh Giri took 2-27 from 4 overs and skipper Paras Khadka also had one scalp.

Kings had a perfect start after their opening duo Anil Sah and Dilip Nath got involved in a 45-run opening wicket partnership. Anil hammered three sixes and three boundaries in his 25-ball 36.

The big partnership came for the second wicket after Babar and Dilip added 79 runs for the second wicket in 46 deliveries. Dilip scored 43 from 37 with six fours and a six. Hayat smashed four sixes and as many boundaries. 

Skipper Paras Khadka (22 off 12) amd Saurabh Khanal (17 off 11) gave perfect finish to the winning side. Sufyan Mehmood took 2 wickets but was hit for 39 runs in four over. Sagar Pun and Jitendra Mukhiya also had wicket each.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard


Publisher:Abhinandan Aryal, 9843588041 | Editor:Manoj Bhusal

Registration Number: 277/073-074