logo of cricketingnepal.com

Goldens post DPL-high total in big win over Challengers

Apr 02, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |

Kathmandu Goldens posted a tournament-high 186-4 to crush Rupandehi Challengers for their second consecutive victory in the Dhangadhi Premier League at the SP grounds on Monday.

Gyanendra Malla’s Goldens road on contribution from all their top six batsmen to get past their own record of 172-3, made against the same side during the first edition. Challengers only had their opener Pradeep Airee leading the fight with a power packed knock before his dismissal sparked a collapse, squeezed out for just 123 in 18.4 overs.

Pradeep gave a perfect start for Challengers doing most of the scoring in a 71-run stand with 8.4 overs. But with his dismissal, Challengers lost all 10 wickets for just 49 runs. Challengers were bundled out for a DPL low 61 against Attariya on Sunday and Monday’s big defeat means they will have a lot of work to do in order to remain in hunt for the playoffs.

Pradeep hit five sixes and as many boundaries in his 47-ball 51. Sagar had two sixes in his 15-ball 18 and Dipak Prasad (10) was their only remaining batsman to make runs in double figures. Fast bowler Rashid Khan took 4-6 from 2.4 overs.

Spinner Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi also took 3-19 from four overs, while Shahab Alam had the figures of 2-42 from four overs. Alam had picked up a hat-trick in the inaugural day against Chauraha.

Attariya had a perfect start in the day after their fast bowling allrounder Subodh Bhati got involved in a 65-run opening wicket partnership with Amit Shrestha in 7.4 overs. Bhati hammered four sixes and three boundaries in a 25-ball 42.

Amit made 30 off 27 with two sixes and a four. Attariya then lost Gyanendra (20) and Bhupendra Thapa (14) before a 77-run unbeaten partnership between man-of-the-match Sunny Patel and Naresh Budhayer did the job for them.

Leg spinner Sunny had bowled excellent in defense of the total taking 1-8 from four overs with the new ball after he struck a 19-ball 48 not out with five fours and two sixes. Naresh chipped in 30 off 18 balls with two sixes and two boundaries. Bikram Kumar Bhushal, Amar Singh Routela and Sufyan Mehmood took a wicket each for Challengers.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard


Publisher:Abhinandan Aryal, 9843588041 | Editor:Manoj Bhusal

Registration Number: 277/073-074