logo of cricketingnepal.com

Amit innings leads Goldens to victory

Mar 31, 2018 | Saleena Shrestha |
Kathmandu Goldens defeated Team Chauraha Dhangadhi by 7 wickets in their first match of the Dhangadhi Premier League on Saturday.

Electing to bowl first, Goldens restricted Team Chauraha Dhangadhi to 145-6 in 20 overs. Opener Amit Shrestha's unbeaten 81 not out from 65 balls then helped Goldens reach 146-3 in 18.4 overs. 

Amit, who hit nine fours and four sixes in his innings began the match with a 59-run first wicket partnership with Indian recruit Jaykishan Kolsawala and carried the bat throughout the innings. 

Goldens were restricted to 91-3 in 12.4 overs but Amit sailed the ship with a 55-run partnership for the fourth wicket with Naresh Budhayer who was unbeaten on 24 from 18 balls with two sixes and a boundary. 

Man-of-the-match Amit got Rs 10,000. Samsad Sheikh took two wickets for Chauraha and Dhamala had one scalp.

Earlier, Shahab Alam lit up the tournament picking up a hat-trick that saw the defending champions get restricted to a mediocre total. Beginning with the wicket of Chauraha's top scorer Sunil Dhamala, Shahab got rid of Sonu Tamang (one) and skipper Sompal Kami (duck) to complete his hat-trick. 

Shahab returned the figures of 3-23 from four overs. Dhamala did the bulk of scoring in his 55-run opening wicket partnership with Punit Mishra (nine). 

After Mishra's departure, he shared another 71 runs with Shankar Rana who was the next best scorer for Chauraha with 36 off 31 that included five boundaries. 

Sunil made 68 from 57 balls with eight boundaries and two sixes. At one stage, Dhangadhi were batting at 126-2 in 17 overs but the failed to build on to a big total.

Kishor Mahato, Sunny Patel and Rashid Khan also took a wicket each for Goldens.  


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard


Publisher:Abhinandan Aryal, 9843588041 | Editor:Manoj Bhusal

Registration Number: 277/073-074