logo of cricketingnepal.com

Sompal's Chauraha to meet Gyanendra's Goldens in DPL opener

Mar 21, 2018 | Cricketingnepal |

Sompal Kami-led Team Chauraha Dhangadhi will lock horns with Gyanendra Malla's Kathmandu Goldens as the second edition of the Dhangadhi Premier League kicks off on March 31.

According to the tie sheet published by organisers Dhangadhi Cricket Academy on Wednesday, Rupandehi Challengers will play CYC Attariya and Mahendranagar United will be up against Biratnagar Kings on the second day. 

The second season of DPL will see six city based franchise teams clashing for a cash purse of Rs 2.5 million, the highest amount ever to be given in Nepali domestic cricket history. 

The opening day will feature single match while others day will have two matches each. The first match is scheduled to start at 9:00 AM and second is set for 1:00 PM start. 

All six teams will play one match against each other in group stage and the top two teams will make their way to first Qualifier from where the winner will go into the final. The losing side will compete in the second Qualifier against the winning team of the Eliminator.

The winning team will feature in the final match to capture DPL - 2 trophy on April 13

The first edition of Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) was an instant hit. From the day the auction -- Nepal's first ever national level bidding of cricketers -- began till the time Paras Khadka-led Team Chauraha Dhangadhi claimed the title with an incredible turn around in the tournament itself. DPL gave the best taste of Twenty20 cricket.

To add to the glory, DPL-2 has recently been approved by the International Cricket Council. The approval has opened the door for foreign players to compete in the tournament. Also, the statistics of the tournament shall be recorded as T20 stats

DPL conducted its players auction last month with Karan KC, Aarif Sheikh, Basanta Regmi and Sagar Pun becoming the highest sale. The national team quartet were sold for Rs 150,000.

The runners-up of cricket's grand carnival will be getting one million prize with man-Of-the- series riding a TVS Apache 1800 CC motorcycle.

Story by - Saleena Shrestha


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard