logo of cricketingnepal.com

Rabin, Ishan century stand blanks DAV

Mar 17, 2018 | Cricketingnepal |

Rabin Joshi and Ishan Pandey shared century partnership for the first wicket to blank DAV College by six wickets as Tribhuvan University claimed the University Cup Twenty20 cricket tournament on Saturday. 

In what was expected to be a high-voltage final, Rabin and Ishan killed off the game with their 127-run a match-winning stand after DAV elected to bat first and made 141-4 in 20 overs. TU did lose four wickets in a space of nine runs including the two openers but Subash Khakurel (seven not out) held firm to guide his side to 143-4 in 19.3 overs. 

Both the TU openers struggled to open freely in the game but gradually build their innings. Rabin made 71 off 54 with six boundaries and two sixes, while Ishan struck eight boundaries in his 51-ball 57.

Nandan Yadav and Dilip Yadav took two wickets each for DAV. The champions got Rs 200,000 and runners-up got Rs 100,000. Ishan was adjudged the man-of-the-series that won him a cash purse of Rs 25,000.

Earlier, DAV lost Gaurav Khadka (one) and Durgesh Thapa (nine) cheaply but opener Sudhir Chaudhary and Santosh Poudel shared 55 runs for the third wicket leading their team to a decent total. Sudhir struck seven boundaries and two sixes in his 48-ball 64, while Santosh scored 35 off 36 with two boundaries. 

Sanjay Basnet provided a late lift striking a four-ball 13 hitting a six and a four. Rupesh Shrivastav, Ishan and Sagar Dhakal took a wicket each for TU. 

Aadil Khan of DAV was named the best batsman, Sagar Thapa of TU was named the best bowler and Mahesh Khatri was adjudged the emerging player of the tournament. They got Rs 10,000 each.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard