logo of cricketingnepal.com

Baluwatar cruise to Khukuri Challenger title

Feb 17, 2018 | Cricketingnepal |

Baluwatar Cricket Club lifted the title of Khukuri Challenger Twenty20 cricket tournament with a slim eight-run win over Kathmandu Cricket Training Centre (KCTC) at the TU Stadium on Saturday.

In an evenly-poised match, Baluwatar seized control  at the closing stages of the game after they piled up an imposing 151-9 in 20 overs. At one stage KCTC appeared to be heading for the victory but Baluwatar bowlers did well restricting their opponents to 143-6 in 20 overs.

The victory handed Baluwatar a cash purse of Rs 300,000. Runners-up took KCTC got Rs 100,000.

After a sluggish start from the openers, it was Amar Singh Routela and Sonu Tamang who guided Baluwatar to what was a safe total with some quick scoring. Amar top scored in the match with an 18-ball 23 hitting three fours and two sixes.

Sonu struck two sixes and two boundaries in his nine-ball 22. Both Baluwatar hard hitters were bowled by Sumit Jha. Earlier, opener Pranit Thapa Magar top scored from the top order making a 28-ball 27 with three fours and a six. Prithu Baskota scored 25 from 23 with three hits to the fence.

Sumit ended up picking 3-29 from four overs and Sanajay Basnet snapped 2-29. Nandan Yadav also picked up a wicket for KCTC.

The reply for KCTC was modest as their first five batsmen contributed to the total but the lower middle order failed to finish off the game. Opener Adil Khan made a run-a-ball 32 with a six and a four, while Durgesh Thapa was the next best scorer with 21 from 17 with two boundaries.

Sumit Maharjan (19), Bibek Rana Magar (17) and Sudhir Chaudhary (12) were other KCTC batsmen reaching double figures. Man-of-the-final Avinash Bashyal took three wickets for Baluwatar. Siddhant Raj Shahi and Kshitiz Singh also had a scalp each.

Tournament Highlights

Winners                                                               Cash Prizes

Baluwatar Cricket Club                                   Rs 300,000

Kathmandu Cricket Training Centre              Rs 100,000

Man-of-the-series          Kshitiz Singh (Baluwatar)                    Rs 20,000

Best Batsman                    Rabindra Jung Shahi (Tikapur)        Rs 10,000

Best Bowler                        Avinash Bohora (TAC)                      Rs 10,000

Emerging Player               Sagar Dhakal (GHCA)                         Rs 10,000


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard


Publisher:Abhinandan Aryal, 9843588041 | Editor:Manoj Bhusal

Registration Number: 277/073-074