logo of cricketingnepal.com

Rautahat, Makanpur file second win in a row

Feb 07, 2018 | Cricketingnepal |

Rautahat Rising XI and Makawanpur Cricket Club registered their second consecutive victory in the Khukuri Challenger Twenty20 cricket tournament on Wednesday.

On a day of high-scoring Group ‘D’ matches that also feature big partnerships, Rautahat edged Tikapur Cricket Club by eight runs to put Rabindra Jung Shahi’s brilliant innings in shadow. Hashim Ansari made a blistering half century as Makwanpur coasted to a seven wicket victory over Butwal Cricket Boys.

The victory has now given both sides six points each in the points table.

The first match saw century partnership in the opening department but Rautahat were in the winning side after they put 167-4 runs on the board. Tikapur finished their innings at 159-6 from 20 overs and watched a solid opening partnership wasted away.

Openers Sushant Singh Thapa and Rabindra Jung Shahi had given Tikapur a dream start adding 105 runs for the first wicket. But their middle order couldn’t capitalize on the start as Rautahat held firm.

Rabindra top scored in the game with a 59-ball 81 hitting five boundaries. Sushant’s 37-ball 54 included four sixes and four boundaries. Rajan Sherchan (11) was the other batsman reaching double figures. Ashutosh Singh, Sashi Keshari and Shankar Patel took a wicket each for Rautahat.

Rautahat had a similar start after Aschal Chaudhary and Aashu Kandoi added 110 runs for the first wicket. Man-of-the-match Aashu made 76 from 65 deliveries with 11 fours and two sixes. Aschal contributed 36 off 32 with four hits to the fence.

Shankar Patel upped the ante for Rautahat smashing an eight-ball 21 not out with two sixes and two fours. Prakash Rawal, Prakash Neupane, Abhinav Yadav and Amar Rawal took a wicket each for Tikapur.

Later in the day, Butwal had three big scorers including a half century from Bishal Bhandari as they reached 157-4. But former U-19 international Hashim made the game his own smashing 72 not out from 43 balls as Makwanpur reached 158-3 in 18.3 overs.

Hashim shared 64 runs for the second wicket with opener Ravi Thapa and 36 for the third with Suraj Patel to ease the chase. He hit eight boundaries and three sixes. Ravi scored 36 off 30 with five fours and a six, while Suraj’s 17-ball 22 included two fours and a six. Bishal Bhujel took two and Sandesh Pandey had one scalp for Butwal.

Bishal was at the centre of Butwal innings as he stepped in to notch up a 68-run stand for the second wicket with opener Dev Khanal and 69 runs for the fourth wicket with Tul Bahadur Thapa.

But it was Thapa who once again displayed his brutal hitting clobbering four sixes and two boundaries in his 20-ball 40 not out. He has also scored a 22-ball 68 against Rautahat on Tuesday smacking 10 sixes.

Bishal top scored with a 56-ball 52 with six boundaries and Dev struck five fours in his 32-ball 34. Ashmin Shrestha took two wickets for Makwanpur. Suraj and Robin Gurung had one scalp apiece.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard