logo of cricketingnepal.com

Raju scores century as TAC in driving seat

Feb 02, 2018 | Cricketingnepal |

Raju Rijal, the former U-19 captain, struck a century to put Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) in a driving seat to reach the Khukuri Challenger Twenty20 cricket tournament as the departmental side returned with a massive 104-run victory over IOE Thapathali on Friday.At the Mulpani Cricket Grounds, Raju made 107 not out from 63 balls as TAC crossed 200 runs for the second time in the tournament making 219-4 in 20 overs. They had also scored 236-2 against Oasis Cricket Academy on Wednesday. Thapathali were stopped at 115-9 in their 20 overs.

The win consolidated TAC’s position in Group ‘C’ as they sit in the second spot with six points from three games. They will meet third-placed Nepal Cricket School in the group’s last league game where even a defeat might not stop them from reaching the quarter-finals. Wai Wai Great Himalayan Cricket Academy has already reached the last eight as pool winners with 12 points from maximum four games.

Opener Bhupendra Thapa  was the key in getting TAC to a mammoth total on Wednesday but on Friday he was dismissed for just two runs. But Indra Kamal Manandhar and Raju gave Thapathali a day to forget as the duo added 156 runs for the second wicket.

Indra Kamal smashed a quickfire 80 from just 43 balls with 11 fours and two sixes. Man-of-the-match Raju hit eight boundaries and four sixes in his unbeaten knock. Sumit Mahato took two wickets for Thapthali.

Raju Chaudhary, Rahul Kumar BK and Lokendra Chand took two wickets each to restrict Thapathali to a low total in their defense. Sushil Bhatta and Aayush Thapa were their leading scorers with 27 runs each, while Sagar Thapa Chhetri (15) and Sumit Mahato (13) were other batsmen to make runs in double figures.

In Group ‘A’, Ultimate Indoor Cricket wrapped up their tournament campaign with a victory beating bottom side Malpokhari Cricket Club by 104 40 runs. Both teams were already out of contention in their pool from where Shantinagar Youth Club have already entered the last eight.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard