logo of cricketingnepal.com

Teams, owners, strategic players revealed for DPL 2

Jan 24, 2018 | Cricketingnepal |
Dhangadhi Cricket Academy (DCA) on Wednesday announced the Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) 2 teams, owners and strategic players. 

The second edition of the franchise tournament will see the repeat of the same teams that participated in the inaugural tournament with only Kanchanpur Iconics changing its name into Mahendranagar United. 

Rest of the team includes Kathmandu Goldens, Biratnagar Kings, CYC Attariya, Team Chauraha Dhangadhi and Rupandehi Challengers.

Golden Gate College owns Goldens and has national team vice-captain Gyanendra Malla as its strategic player. Paras Khadka has been named the strategic player of Kings owned by Mahalaxmi Cable. 

Srijanshil Youth Club owns Attariya and has Dipendra Singh Airee its strategic player. Sushil Kumar Shrestha owns the United with Binod Bhandari its strategic player. 

Challengers -- owned by Suraj Upreti -- and Dhangadhi, owned by Rajkumar Shrestha, have Shakti Gauchan and Sompal Kami as their respective strategic players. 

The auction of the tournament will be held on February 21 as the organisers have categorised the players to go under the hammer. 

The 'A' category players need to play at least 15 international matches from national team or have played in national tournaments in the last three years. The base price for them will be Rs 100,000 and cannot exceed 150,000. 

'B' category includes national and U-19 cricketers with their base price beginning from Rs 50,000 and maximum bidding price of Rs 100,000. The uncapped cricketers are kept in 'C' category and their auction will begin from Rs 25,000 and cannot exceed Rs 75,000. 

All the strategic players will get Rs 200,000. The organisers have also made mandatory for all the teams to include two foreign recruits and a local player from Dhangadhi in their squad. The teams will have a purse of Rs 1.1 million to spend for auction barring strategic and foreign recruits.

DPL is the highest cash prized cricket tournament in Nepal which will give away the champions a whopping amount of Rs 2.5 million. The runners-up will get one million rupees, while the player of the series will ride a TVS Apache 180cc motorcycle.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard


Publisher:Abhinandan Aryal, 9843588041 | Editor:Manoj Bhusal

Registration Number: 277/073-074