logo of cricketingnepal.com

Kathmandu, Nepalgunj win U-19 IPL openers

Jan 12, 2018 | Cricketingnepal |

Kathmandu and Nepalgunj won their respective matches of the second U-19 Itahari Premier League on Friday.


In the inaugural match of the tournament, Kathmandu defeated Biratnagar by seven runs. At the DVM School grounds, Kathmandu were bundled out for 84 in 14.5 overs. Man-of-the-match Arun Airee top scored with 23 runs for Kathmandu and Abhyash Thapa scored 13 not out.


Other Kathmandu batsmen failed to score in double digits. Minash Thapa took three wickets for Biratnagar, while Anil Yadav, Bibek Yadav, Dipesh Kandel and Firdosh Ansari had one scalp apiece. Biratnagar in reply were restricted to 77-7 in the match reduced 15over-a-side due to fog.


Lava Kamat top scored for the losing side with 22 runs. Ankit Subedi made 21 and Minash scored 12. Pawan Karki took two wickets for Kathmandu with Arun and Pratish GC also taking a wicket each.


Nepalgunj, meanwhile, eased to a 22-run victory over Bhairahawa. Nepalgunj were bundled out for 83 runs. Tul Bahadur Thapa and Bikarna Basnet had two scalps apiece for Bhairahawa who in reply were 62 all out in 15.1 overs.


Sijan Makaju (10) was the only Bhairahawa batsman to make runs in double figures. On Saturday, Itahari Cricket Academy will take on Nepalgunj and Biratnagar will meet Dhangadhi.


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard