logo of cricketingnepal.com

DPL 2 -- A stepping stone in making Dhangadhi A City of Cricket

Jan 05, 2018 | Cricketingnepal |
The first edition of Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) was an instant hit. From the day the auction -- Nepal's first ever national level bidding of cricketers -- began till the time Paras Khadka-led Team Chauraha Dhangadhi claimed the title with an incredible turn around in the tournament itself, DPL gave the best taste of Twenty20 cricket.

Twenty20 fever had recently captivated Nepal when EPL Pvt Ltd successfully organised the Everest Premier League Twenty20 cricket tournament at the TU Stadium. EPL ended up as a blockbuster hit in domestic cricket history after more than 17,000 supporters thronged to the TU Stadium to watch the final that eventually turned out to be the most dramatic one ever played inside the country. 

In a match that saw Anshuman Rath of Biratnagar Warriors leaking 36 runs in his single over, Bhairahawa Gladiators were the surprise losers after 
the game went into the final over, virtually the final ball. 

Soon after the EPL bade farewell amidst a massive fanfare, Dhangadhi Cricket Academy (DCA) has opened registration for the second edition of DPL which will now be a modified version and will be staged as the highest cash-prized tournament in cricket history. 

DPL beats the cash prize of Rs 2.1 million provided to EPL champions Biratnagar Warriors. The DPL champions will now get Rs 2.5 million. The event that comes from someone like DCA Director Subash Bahadur Shahi who initially established himself as a cricket tournament organiser through SPA Cup -- an inter-college cricket tournament -- at his city is a great initiation that could motivate stake holders from other cities across the country. 

SPA Cup carried a cash purse of Rs 25,000 to the champions and had a total budget of Rs 400,000. Shahi now organises a tournament that carries a total of budget of Rs 30 million setting an example of how people shouldn't stop dreaming. Shahi, however, wants to remain grounded because he knows he has more benchmark to set. 

"We just want to make impact and motivate others to come up with such concept. If more helping hands come in, we will take cricket to a step further upwards," said Shahi.

Like marquee player, the six franchises will have strategic players. Initially planned for a January 19 start, DPL has been pushed to March 31 considering the calendar of the national team.

In its second edition, DPL will see each franchises recruiting two foreign cricketers which has been made mandatory, while to make tournament more inclusive for Dhangadhi city, each team need to buy one local player. The six franchises participating in the first edition will be given priority in the second. 

CYC Attariya, Kanchanpur Iconics, Kathmandu Goldesn and Rupandehi Challengers were other teams in the first edition. The auction for the players will be held on February 8 and will be preceded by announcement of franchises and strategic players. 

The first edition itself had drawn a large number of audience for live telecast and now being an event that is modified, DPL will continue to get bigger. Shahi is widely known as a cricket campaigner in his city Dhangadhi. He has been actively involved in making Dhangadhi 'A City of Cricket' by holding numerous cricket tournaments for quite a long time. He has partially succeeded and the second edition of DPL will be another stepping stone to it.

Dhangadhi Premier League 2 in Highlights
Total Estimated Budget: Rs 30, million
Total Cash Purse: Rs 5 million
Winners' Cash Purse: Rs 2.5 million
Runners-up: Rs 1 million
Second runners-up: Rs 300,000
Fourth-placed Team: Rs 200,000
Man-of-the-series: TVS Apache 180cc motorcycle
Dhangadhi Cricket Honour: Rs 100,000
Arjun Khadka Memorial Honour: Rs 100,000


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard


Publisher:Abhinandan Aryal, 9843588041 | Editor:Manoj Bhusal

Registration Number: 277/073-074