Connect with us


Armymen continue to win title

Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) continued to impress in their debut year of the national cricket journey claiming the second Deepak Gupta Memorial Twenty20 Cricket Tournament in Janakpur with a six-wicket victory over Kalaiya on Tuesday.


In the final match at the jampacked Barhabighaa grounds in Janakpur, Kalaiya made 161-6 in 20 overs after electing to bat first.


The current national twenty20 champions reached 162-5 in 19.4 overs.


TAC had also won the National Twenty20 title defeating Nepal APF Club in the final last year in their debut tournament.


Rajesh Pulami top scored for the Armymen making 44 runs. Rajesh, who smashed three sixes in his innings, was named the man-of-the-final.


Opener Anil Mandal also contributed 42 runs, while Naresh Budhayer scored 37 and Rupesh Srivastav made nine runs in a successful TAC chase.


Binod Das took two wickets for Kalaiya, while Aarif Sheikh and Pawan Sharraf had one victim each.


Earlier, Amit Shrestha scored 59 runs today following the magnificent 77 he made against Biratnagar in the semi-finals on Monday.


Amit was later adjudged the man-of-the-series that made him richer by Rs 15,000.


Aarif gave an all round display making 44. Anil Sah (20), Sumit Shrestha (16) and Binod (13) were others making runs in double figures.


Lokendra Chand picked up three wickets for TAC.


TAC grabbed Rs 101,000 cash prize along with the title and Kalaiya took home Rs 70,000.


Anil was named the best batsman of the tournament and his teammate Faizlur Rehman Khan the best bowler. Both the best individuals got Rs 10,000 apiece.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!