Connect with us


Army successfully defend MM Cup title

Tribhuvan Army Club claimed their second consecutive
title of the MM Cup One Day National cricket tournament with an 85-run victory
over Nepal Police Club on Saturday.

In a rematch of last year’s final, NPC did well
after they restricted a strong Army side to 184 in 48.5 overs. But the
Policemen were undone by Army spinners who accounted for nine wickets and
bundled them out for just 99 in 24.4 overs.

Along with the title, Army claimed a cash purse of
Rs 405,000 and runners-up NPC got Rs 205,000.

Left arm spin trio of Sushan Bhari Shrestha, Kushal
Malla and Shahab Alam rocked NPC chase as they struck with important scalps of Pawan
Sarraf (duck), Amit Shrestha, Dipendra Singh Airee (five) and Anil Kumar Sah.

Amit made 23 off 28 with four boundaries, while Anil
scored 21 off 18 with a six and a four. Kushal Bhurtel tried to keep NPC in the
game with a gritty 27-ball 31 but fell prey to Shahab as the last batsman out.
He hit three fours and two sixes.

Man-of-the-final Bhari took 4-24 from four overs,
while Shaha also had three scalps. Kushal took 2-15 from his six overs. Bikram
Sob had dismissed opener Sunil Dhamala early in the game.

Army earlier didn’t have the best of the start
losing their wicket in a cluster with only Raju Rijal (22) and Rajesh Pulami
Magar putting some runs on the board from the top and middle order. Rajesh made
31 off 49 with four boundaries.

They were precariously placed at 116-7 in 27.1 overs
before skipper Binod Bhandari bailed them out of trouble with a half century
(53 runs) partnership for the eighth wicket with Bikram. Bhandari struck four
boundaries in a match-high 40 off 66 balls.

Dipendra Singh Airee, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi
and Sagar Dhakal took three wickets each for NPC.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



More in National