Connect with us


Ariyo spins Kathmandu to easy victory, final

Left arm orthodox bowler Ariyo Poudel picked up five wickets as Kathmandu set the Bagmati Province Selection Tournament for the Prime Minister Cup One Day National with Chitwan on Monday.

At the Mulpani Cricket Ground, Kathmandu inflicted Makawanpur a humiliating seven-wicket defeat after bundling out the opponents for just 73 runs. The result means Kathmandu finished their Group ‘A’ campaign unbeaten and will play another unbeaten side Chitwan in the final.

After Sanjam Regmi, Chandra Kumar Budha, Suman Uday and Ishan Pandey destroyed the top order, Ariyo, who last year played the U-16 cricket tournament, demolished the rest of the batting line up of Makawanpur as they survived just 30.1 overs. Ishan then made an unbeaten 32 off 51 balls as Kathmandu reached 74-3 in 20.2 overs.

Man-of-the-match Ariyo returned the figures of 5-17 from 7.1 overs. Only Gaurab Khadka (15) and Yubin Budhathoki (10) managed to make runs in double figures for Makawanpur who were tipped to reach the final from the pool after two clinical performances against Nuwakot and Bhaktapur.

In an inconsequential match at the TU grounds, Bhaktapur eased to an eight-wicket victory over Nuwakot. Two wickets each from Susan Shrestha, Subash Khatri and Krish Karki helped Bhaktapur bundled out Nuwakot for a paltry 135 in 38 overs.

Adit Subedi and Naveen Yadav then shared an unbeaten 137-run partnership for the third wicket leading Bhaktapur to 138-2 in 32.2 overs.

While both batsmen made 60 runs each, Adit’s 76-ball innings included nine boundaries. Naveen struck six boundaries. Rajesh Rimal had top scored for Nuwakot with 36 runs.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Latest

error: Content is protected !!