Connect with us


APF, Lumbini enter Prime Minister Cup semi-finals

Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club and Lumbini entered the semi-finals of the Prime Minister Cup Women’s National Twenty20 cricket tournament on Sunday.

APF routed Province 2 by eight wickets after a collective bowling effort, while Lumbini got the better of Karnali. Lumbini and APF have four points each in the Group A table with the two teams clashing on Monday to decide the table toppers. Karnali and Province 2 both headed out.

The only departmental side in women’s cricket, APF, overcame a modest start from Sobha Ale and Anuradha Chaudhary restricting Province 2 to 72-8 in 20 overs. APF reached the target in just 13.1 overs. Shobha (13) and Anuradha added 27 runs for the first wicket inside seven overs but once Ishwari Bist broke the stand, Province 2 struggled.

Anuradha top scored with a 34-ball 18 and Santoshi Chaudhary (nine not out) was their third best scorer. APF bowled a disciplined line and never let Province 2 batswoman play freely. Province 2 didn’t hit even a single boundary in the game.

Skipper Sita Rana Magar took two wickets, while Rajmati Airee, Karuna Bhandari and Rekha Rawal also had a scalp apiece. Player of the match Sita also struck with the bat after she and Jyoti Pandey gave a solid start of 51 runs. Sita, who had scored 68 a day before against Karnali, made 18 off 30.

Jyoti made 30 off 40, her innings including four boundaries. When she was dismissed in the 13th over, APF were just four runs away from victory. Saraswati Chaudhary and Kabita Gautam took a wicket each for Province 2. 

In the first match of the day, Lumbini defeated Karnali by nine wickets a day after the province was handed a 204-run drubbing from APF. With the match reduced to 13-over-a-side Lumbini restricted Karnali to paltry 34-6 on the back of some discipline bowling performance led by skipper Nary Thapa.

Karnali gave away 20 extra runs to ease the chase for Lumbini as they reached the target in just 3.1 overs. Player-of-the-match Nary made nine off 10 with two boundaries. Nary also took two wickets giving away just 13 runs to tighten the screws on Karnali.

Dikshya Puri (eight) and Anshu Shakya (seven) were the top scorers for the losing side. Sarita GC and Gita Gosai also took a wicket each for Lumbini.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Latest

error: Content is protected !!