Connect with us


Aniruddha of Kanchanpur win Expert School Cricket League

The four-month long Expert School Cricket League came to a conclusion on Thursday with Aniruddha Higher Secondary School of Kanchanpur claiming the title in Bhairahawa.

In the final match at the Siddhartha Stadium, Aniruddha defeated New Horizon Higher Secondary School by four wickets to pocket a cash purse of Rs 100,000. The two schools were the winners of the preliminary league round in their respective districts.

The Finals was participated in by four other district winners from Kathmandu, Chitwan, Kailali and Tanahun. Electing to field first, Aniruddha bowlers put in a collective bowling effort to skittle out New Horizon for a paltry 71 runs in 19.2 overs.

The Kanchanpur school then reached the target in just 16.4 overs losing six wickets in the process. Sajan Gautam top scored in the final with 18 runs and Ashok Bista chipped in 17. Kushal Malla took three wickets for New Horizon, while Sandesh Pandey, Prakash Giri and Sandeep Pandey also getting one victim apiece.

Earlier, Bishal Khatri was the leading scorer for New Horizon making 19 runs. Prakash Giri (13) and Mausam Khamcha (11) also made runs in double figures but their effort was not enough to see their team through.

Man-of-the-final Arbind Ayer and Bhuwan Pal took two wickets each for the champion side. Ashok Basnet, rabin Saud and Paras KC also took a wicket each.

Kushal Malla, a centurion against Rajan Memorial School of Kathmandu in the semi-final on Wednesday, was named the man-of-the-series and best batsman. Sandesh Pandey of New Horizon (bowler) and Paras KC (fielder) of Aniruddha also walked away with individual awards.

The tournament was organized by Himalayan Cricket Academy and was sponsored by Expert Education and Visa Services.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Others

error: Content is protected !!