Connect with us


All round Anuradha sets Janakpur-APF title clash

Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club and Region VII (Janakpur) entered the final of the Prime Minister Cup Women’s National Twenty20 Cricket Tournament in Pokharaon Tuesday.


In the semi-final matches at the Rangashala grounds, APF defeated Region IX (Dhangadhi) by four wickets and Janakpur eased past Region-I (Biratnagar) by seven wickets.


While APF were made to toil by Dhangadhi for whom Kavita Kunwar wreaked havoc picking up four wickets, Janakpur had an easy ride once they restricted Biratnagar to 58-7 in 20 overs.


Anuradha Chaudhary was the star performer for Janakpur picking up two wickets and replying with more than half of runs her team scored in the chase. Anuradha scored a run-a-ball 35 not out as Janakpur replied with 59-3 in 11 overs.


Anuradha hit five boundaries. Along with Anuradha, Saraswoti Chaudhary also picked up two wickets for Janakpur to bundle out Biratnagar cheaply.


Kajol Shrestha, Apsari Begam, Sangita Rai and Sabnam Rai were the leading scorers for Biratnagar with eight runs.


APF restricted Dhangadhi to 76-7 but they were staring an unlikely defeat when Kavita destroyed the top order reducing the departmental side to 52-6 only for Ritu Kanojiya to lift her team to 80-6 in 16 overs.


Ritu made an unbeaten 17 off 15 with two boundaries and shared 28 runs for the seventh wicket with Karuna Bhandari (nine not out). Opener Madhu Thapa (14) and Sarita Magar (13) were other notable contributors for APF.


Kuwnar took 4-17 from four overs while Sonu Khadka also picked  up two wickets for Dhangadhi. Earlier, Dhangadi were 25-2 before Nirmala Shahi and Kavita Joshi (12) shared 29 runs for the third wicket guiding their team above 50-run mark.


Shahi made 15 off 29 with two boundaries and Chandani Shah (11) and Bimala Bhatta (10 not out) were their remaining batswoman to make runs in double figures.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!