logo of cricketingnepal.com

Nepal sign off with resounding victory over Hong Kong

Mar 30, 2017 | Eddie Van Brooks |

Nepal signed off from the ACC Emerging Teams Cup with a resounding seven-wicket victory over Hong Kong at the Sheikh Kamal InternationalCricket Ground on Thursday.

Electing to field first, Nepal staged a fightback to restrict Hong Kong to 214 all out in 50 overs before reaching 220-3 in 44.2 overs. Nepal had lost to the U-23 teams of Pakistan and Bangladesh that saw them crash out of the tournament from group stage.

Man-of-the-match and skipper Gyanendra Malla led the foundation for victory after he began the day with a 37-run stand with Aasif Sheikh (eight). He added another 44 runs for the second wicket with Dilip Nath (12) and 34 runs for the third wicket with Dipendra Singh Airee before losing his wicket in the 27th over.

Gyanendra made a brisk 70 off 82 balls with 11 hits to the fence. Dipendra and Sharad Vesawkar did the rest as they shared a match-winning 105 run unbroken partnership for the fourth wicket. Sharad was fluent in his 51-ball 55 that included three sixes and as many boundaries, while Dipendra slammed his second half century of the tournament scoring 60 off 83 balls with five fours and a six.

Earlier, it was Gyanendra who had stemmed the run flow getting rid of Hong Kong's both set openers Anshuman Rath and Cameron McAuslan in consecutive overs after the duo had added 95 runs inside 21 overs. Rath was first to go for 51 off 60 hitting seven boundaries and McAuslan made 43 off 73 balls with five fours. Spinners Bhuwan Karki (2-37), Sushan Bhari Shrestha (2-53) and Sandeep Lamichhane (1-29) tightened the screws picking up five wickets between them.

Left arm seamer Avinash Karn polished off the tail snaring 3-29 from five overs. Waqas Khan was Hong Kong's next best scorer with 30 off 65 hitting three boundaries.

From Group 'B', Pakistan and Bangladesh, who played a thrilling draw in their final pool match on thursday had already qualified for the semi-finals. 


{{match.teamAName}} - {{match.teamARun}} / {{ match.teamAFOW}} ( {{match.teamAOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)


{{match.teamBName}} - {{match.teamBRun}} / {{ match.teamBFOW}} ( {{match.teamBOver}} / {{match.matchOver}} Overs)

Click here for Full Scorecard